Friday in Australia

Formula 1 started earlier today with the first two practice sessions in Albert Park, Melbourne. This is how I saw the action on Twitter…

We are go for F1 2011 and Chandhok has already put the Lotus in the wall!
1:32am

Hamilton on a lap now, activating the rear wing as he goes, I was quite excited to see it open! He aborts the lap and comes in.
1:54am

Rosberg on track for Mercedes, pulls into the pits without setting a time.
2:01am

The World Champion is on the track!
2:04am

The sidewalls of the new Pirelli tyres are very shiny! Maldonado starts a flying lap, his first in an F1 race weekend.
2:07am

Massa goes fastest then takes a trip to the gravel trap!
2:09am

New addition to the placings tower is a ‘P’ next to drivers in the pits.
2:22am

Great rear facing onboard on the Red Bull showing Vettel using the rear wing.
2:26am

Alonso has a red light on the top left of his steering wheel that would seem to indicate when the rear wing is open.
2:48am

Chequered flag out, Red Bull start as they mean to go on with a 1-2, Webber ahead of Vettel.
3:03am

HRT have done less running than this time last year by not making it out in FP1, hope it’s sorted by FP2
3:05am

McLaren counter lack of running in preseason by running most laps in FP1, but would surely like to be faster
3:07am

Power nap before FP2 now
3:09am

Having some toast waiting for FP2 to start. 5liveF1 reporting a bit of rain
5:27am

FP2 underway, toast is burnt, Perez on (and slightly off) track for Sauber
5:33am

I think Chandhok getting it wrong this morning is understandable, hasn’t driven an F1 car for months and never used the Pirelli tyres
5:35am

BBC 5liveF1 reporter Natalie Pinkham saying that HRT will only get an installation lap this afternoon
5:49am

I’m quieter this session as I’m struggling to keep my eyes open!
6:42am

Liuzzi finally in the HRT, still in the garage at the moment but they are getting ready
6:53am

What would HRT have done if the Bahrain race hadn’t been cancelled?!
7:00am

McLaren 1-2 for FP2 with Button leading Hamilton. No real surprises other than Maldonado’s pace and me burning my toast!
7:02am

Could barely keep my eyes open ten minutes ago, now I’m back in bed I’m wide awake! Realised I tagged half of my FP2 tweets as FP1, oops!
7:12am

I have made some alterations due to spelling mistakes, and I’ve removed hashtags and ‘@’ mentions.

Leave a Reply

